Q&A with Adam

Brought to you by: ~Melody~

I recently sat down with Adam, a staff member at the Food Bank.  Adam has a unique family story.  Check it out below.

Q: How did you hear about the Food Bank and how long have you been here?
A: I applied for a position online.  Pretty simple.  I really enjoy it here.  I come from a long line of stressful job positions.  Not many people know, but I had a mild heart attack in January from job stress.  So I wanted to do something worthwhile.  I didn’t want to be in the corporate world anymore; I wanted to make a difference.  So I’ve been here since March 2008.

 

Q: Tell me about your family.
A: Let’s see.  I have been married for eleven years.  My wife had three children when I first met her.  I adopted her children, and we had three children after that.  All three were born with autism.  In November 2007, we adopted a little girl.  She was post-tox for meth; she was basically born with meth in her system.  This little girl was my wife’s cousin’s daughter.  In late July of this year we got a call from the State of Alabama saying that my wife’s other cousin’s children were taken into foster care.  They were found at a crack house.  It was either we take them or they get lost in the foster care system. 

 

Q: How are the kids doing now?
A: Good.  They’re transitioning well.  It’s always busy at the house.  My wife home schools all of the kids.

Q: So she’s got a full load?
A: (Laughing) Oh yes.  Everyone always asks me where we put all the kids.  I have a six-bedroom, three-bathroom house, so we have plenty of room.

Q: Has raising such a large family been a struggle?
A: It’s been a struggle in the sense of keeping everyone happy. We have special needs children, so it’s always pretty difficult.  Something that’s not a struggle is food.  A lot of people think that’s a struggle, but we don’t receive any food benefits from the state.  My wife plans meals very well, does a lot of crock-pot meals and finds sales.

Clothing wise, we have teenage girls, so they want the latest stuff.  A couple of the older girls have jobs, so they buy a lot of their own things.  We’ve taught them to work for what you want.  For the most part, we hit up thrift stores.  My wife used to run an online resale-clothing store.  But she only did high-end clothing.  She’d go into all the thrift stores and pick out the high-end items.  So the kids never look like they’re underdressed.

Q: What are your kids names and ages?
A:Christian, girl, 18, born on Christmas day
Taylor, girl, 17
Jonas, boy, 14
Brittany, girl, 12
Emily, girl, 8
Corey, boy, 7
Bryleigh, girl, 5
Elayna, girl, 4
Paige, girl, 2 almost 3
Bradley, boy, 2

Q: Is that all?
A: Let me see.  I hope so!  (Laughing).

Q: Did you and your wife plan on having a large family?
A: Yes.  I have seven brothers and sisters, but they’re all much younger.  So I grew up almost as an only child.  My wife has a brother and sister, but they’re younger too.  She knew growing up that she wanted to be a mom and have a lot of kids. 

Q: Do you plan on having more kids?
A: Well, my wife was six months pregnant with Paige, and we were at the Utah county fair.  We went on a wagon ride pulled by two Clydesdale horses.  They got spooked and took off full speed.  For those that don’t know about Clydesdales, they can go full force running pulling 10,000 pounds each.  My wife jumped from the cart and developed a blood clot from it.  She ended up almost dying while giving birth to Paige, so the doctors advised her to not have any more children.  We were sad about it because we wanted to have a big family.  She always wanted ten kids, so it’s funny how everything fell into place.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

